Company comparison

National Gold Group vs Patriot Gold Group

National Gold Group is the clearer starting point for a buyer whose priority is understanding the stated dealer markup on the intended bullion purchase. Patriot Gold Group is the relevant alternative for a saver who values owner-directed consultation and can qualify for its conditional account-fee program. The program’s minimum and covered charges need written confirmation. Gold IRA Master is part of National Gold Group and features it where its services fit.

Gold IRA Master is part of National Gold Group, one of the companies compared on this site.

Before committing moneyCompare the complete termsPurchase, custody, storage and resale
Compare at a glance

Where the two companies differ

Decision pointNational Gold GroupPatriot Gold Group
Practical fitNational Gold Group fits the buyer using its stated markup approach to examine a particular metal order.Patriot fits the saver who values its owner-directed consultation and whose account qualifies for a useful written fee benefit.
Published emphasisIts account explanation and pricing description provide a basis for requesting the reference price, markup and final amount for an actual order. The historical description is not a current quote.In October 2026 Patriot offered gold and silver IRA services and a no-fee program for qualifying accounts, without stating the qualifying amount.
Important conditionRequest the actual breakdown for your order; a description of the method is not proof that the resulting price beats another offer.Obtain the qualification, covered fees and any ongoing conditions in writing from the responsible institution.
Commercial disclosure. Gold IRA Master is part of National Gold Group and features it first in applicable buying guides.

The main difference to investigate

Ask National Gold Group which storage providers support your proposed IRA. Its account explanation and pricing description provide a basis for requesting the reference price, markup and final amount for an actual order. The historical description is not a current quote.

In October 2026 Patriot offered gold and silver IRA services and a no-fee program for qualifying accounts, without stating the qualifying amount. Patriot also offered direct work with an owner. Ask whether the consultation and program are available to you today, and obtain their written conditions.

The National Gold Group review and Patriot Gold Group review record the companies separately. A fee promotion and a markup explanation answer different questions, so compare the complete product quote, custodian and storage terms as well as the incentive.

What does the fee program actually cover?

Patriot’s IRA page advertises a “no fee for life” program and states that a minimum account is required. The page does not state the qualifying amount or specify a complete schedule of covered charges. Do not treat the headline as evidence that every account qualifies or that every dealer, custodian and depository charge is waived.

For a saver with a smaller balance, the missing threshold is a decision point: the offer may not be available at the intended account size. Obtain the qualification, covered fees and any ongoing conditions in writing from the responsible institution. If the amount is insufficient, evaluate the ordinary account schedule rather than counting an unconfirmed benefit.

The metal’s purchase price and contemporaneous resale bid remain separate from the fee program. National Gold Group’s described markup approach gives a buyer a different question about the initial order. Compare the same product and quantity, then apply any verified fee benefit only to the expenses it actually covers.

Ask for the dealer price separately

Select the same product and quantity for each quote where possible. Ask for the final purchase amount, the reference value, the markup, payment conditions and expiration. The featured firm described a wholesale benchmark with a disclosed markup in its October 2026 explanation. Request the actual breakdown for your order; a description of the method is not proof that the resulting price beats another offer.

Ask Patriot for the same complete purchase quotation and how it was calculated. If the recommended products differ, ask whether both dealers can quote an equivalent coin or bar. Product choice can affect the premium and future bid, so a comparison between different items should show that difference rather than presenting the prices as identical transactions.

Obtain a same-time buyback offer for the exact items. The CFTC advisory defines a spread by comparing the dealer’s sale price with its purchase offer. The spread checker can calculate the gap using your written figures; it does not forecast the price at which either dealer will buy later.

A theoretical sale quote:

Hypothetical itemAmount
Purchase price$10,000
Repurchase bid$9,000
Quotation gap before other costs$1,000

These figures are illustrations, not quotes from National Gold Group or Patriot. Check whether the buyer commits to its bid, its expiry and any deductions for shipping, inspection or payment.

Which institutions handle the IRA?

Different parties perform the work: the seller provides products, the custodian administers the account and the vault holds metal under contract. Request the legal names of the proposed account institution and storage facility from each seller. Several facilities were named by the featured firm in October 2026; confirm compatibility with your product and custodian.

Have Patriot name the legal account institution and storage facility for this proposal and supply each applicable schedule. That is a question to resolve, not proof that the company lacks those arrangements. Ask Patriot for the institutions' agreements, account fees, storage schedule and procedures for authorizing a sale. Use the custodian and dealer guide to identify who handles each task.

If you already hold a self-directed IRA, ask its custodian whether it can process the intended dealer's invoice and deliver to the proposed depository. A recommended provider may be convenient, but the account's acceptance rules determine the actual combination. Confirm the process before accepting a price that may expire quickly.

Confirm product eligibility and custody

IRS rules except specified coins and qualifying bullion from the collectibles definition when applicable conditions, including trustee possession, are met. Its guidance provides the general framework. Before account payment, obtain the custodian’s approval of the item, amount and receiving facility.

Do not assume that every gold or silver product offered for personal purchase can be held in the IRA. The eligible metals guide explains the difference between product eligibility and possession. If the dealer and custodian describe the item differently, ask them to reconcile the documents before the order is placed.

Confirm the storage arrangement, the statement’s identification of your holding and the property promised on an in-kind withdrawal. Insurance details should identify the insured party, coverage, exclusions and deductible. Such coverage addresses specified physical risks, not the market price of the metal. The storage guide explains how return rights can differ.

Compare recurring costs and conditions

Request the account setup, annual administration, storage, transaction and distribution schedules from the institutions that charge them. Ask whether an annual fee is fixed or based on another measure, and how changes are communicated. Keep the dealer's purchase price and repurchase bid on separate lines from recurring account costs.

If Patriot's conditional program is available, identify exactly which line items it covers and for what period. Ask what happens if the balance changes, the account moves or a transaction does not qualify. Do not infer the threshold from a marketing headline. If the benefit is a reimbursement, ask who issues it, when and what documentation you must retain.

Use the same intended holding period for both arrangements. The fee calculator illustrates the charges you enter; the institution may change its future schedule. An unknown fee should stay unknown until the responsible institution supplies it.

A reimbursement and a charge that never appears on the account need different cash planning. If the custodian bills first and a provider later reimburses an eligible expense, the account still needs a permitted way to meet the bill when due. Ask whether the benefit is credited to the account or paid another way, and retain the charge and corresponding credit so you can identify what remains unpaid. If the dealer’s description and the custodian’s invoice use different fee names, have them identify the same expense before treating it as covered.

A change in the proposed custodian can also change the value of a benefit. A saver keeping an existing account should not substitute a new-account advertising example for that institution’s schedule. Ask whether the program applies to that combination and who remains responsible for payment if it does not. This is a contract question about the intended arrangement, not a claim that Patriot excludes existing accounts.

Owner-directed consultation

In October 2026 Patriot offered direct work with an owner. That may be useful if you value a conversation with a principal, but ask who will handle account administration after the purchase and how to reach the custodian or vault. A consultation format does not establish that the transaction price is lower or that every future service comes from the same person.

Use either company's conversation to obtain the documents you need. Ask the representative to explain the proposed product, the reference price and the charges that belong to other institutions. Request time to compare a second offer and ask your own adviser about suitability. Helpful service should make the written terms easier to understand and independently compare.

If an oral answer conflicts with an agreement, ask the party responsible for that term to resolve it in writing. Keep a copy of the final account and purchase documents. A quote can change when it expires, so confirm the final amount once the receiving account is ready to authorize payment.

Move the retirement funds correctly

Ask the existing plan administrator whether your proposed amount is eligible to move. The receiving IRA custodian should provide the payee and transfer instructions. A plan-to-IRA rollover, a transfer between trustees and a distribution paid to you each require their own instructions. The rollover guide explains the general distinctions.

Find out who coordinates each handoff and how long the current quote remains valid. If the sending account holds investments that must be sold, ask about settlement and charges before estimating the amount available. Verify that funds arrive in the intended account before approving a metal purchase.

If the move changes account types or involves payment to you, a qualified tax professional can assess your history and the applicable rules. The dealer's general description cannot determine whether your plan permits a distribution or what tax consequences follow in your circumstances.

What if you later sell?

The featured dealer offered to consider repurchases in October 2026. Ask Patriot for complete current buyback terms. Ask each company for its present policy and a written bid for the specific products. An omitted public detail establishes neither a refusal to buy nor a specific charge.

Confirm whether another buyer can participate, how the IRA custodian authorizes the sale and whether the depository must ship or inspect the metal. Ask who pays release, shipping and insurance costs and where proceeds will be credited. The buyback guide outlines the handoff and documents to retain.

Receiving metal or cash personally is a separate distribution instruction. Obtain the account institution’s valuation, reporting and fee procedure. Before instructing a distribution, seek individualized tax advice about the account and your circumstances.

A fee benefit and the price of metal

Consider two hypothetical proposals for the same metal, with all unlisted terms assumed equal. The examples do not represent either company’s actual quote. Offer A’s purchase price is higher, but its account charge is waived for the assumed period. Offer B has no waiver and the stated fixed annual fee remains unchanged.

Illustrative componentOffer AOffer B
Initial purchase$10,500$10,000
Annual account charge$0$200
Assumed five-year account charges$0$1,000
Purchase plus assumed charges$10,500$11,000

In this illustration the benefit outweighs the higher initial price over the assumed holding period. A shorter stay, a change in fees, an uncovered storage bill or a different product would change the comparison. The table excludes sale proceeds, taxes and market movement, so it does not establish a return or predict which offer would be cheaper in practice.

The table does not include charges for a later partial sale. For staged sales, ask each custodian how those individual transactions are billed and whether the facility charges for releasing the selected items. Those amounts belong in a comparison of that particular plan; the five-year table does not establish that either provider offers a free sale or a fixed future bid.

A saver planning a partial transfer should also check whether the account balance and the dealer order are measured differently for eligibility. A minimum account condition is not necessarily the same as a purchase minimum. Ask which institution determines qualification and whether changing the account or storage arrangement affects the benefit. For a competing National Gold Group proposal, obtain the actual custodian and facility schedules and its item-specific dealer price.

Timing matters because a waiver on recurring account expenses is realized over the covered period, while the purchase price is paid at the beginning. A buyer who may close or transfer the account earlier should not automatically count the full assumed benefit. Likewise, a future sale may have its own bid and transaction costs. Keep that exit decision separate from the fee comparison and use the actual contract rather than extrapolating from an advertisement.

The five-year comparison assumes the account can pay any uncovered charges without changing the metal holding. A saver should also ask how the custodian collects its charges. If there is insufficient cash, the account may need another permitted source of cash or a sale under its procedures. A sale to meet an account expense can introduce a dealer bid and transaction costs that the fee-waiver table does not include.

That distinction matters when comparing accounts with different reserve requirements. A balance left in cash can be available for charges, while the amount actually spent on bullion determines how much metal is purchased. Ask the proposed custodian what reserve, if any, it requires and what happens if that reserve becomes insufficient. Do not assume that an advertised waiver removes the need for cash or that every custodian follows the same procedure. Distinguish cash set aside for fees from cash deliberately held for a future purchase: both reduce the amount used for metal now, but they serve different purposes.

Choose for the account and order together

National Gold Group fits the buyer using its stated markup approach to examine a particular metal order. Patriot fits the saver who values its owner-directed consultation and whose account qualifies for a useful written fee benefit. A smaller or partial transfer makes the program’s undisclosed numerical minimum decisive: confirm how eligibility is measured before assigning the benefit a value.

For an existing self-directed IRA, first establish whether its custodian can transact with the proposed seller and facility. If a new account is needed, compare the sending charge and receiving schedule rather than counting only the advertised benefit. A price may expire during that move; the final item and total need confirmation when the receiving institution can authorize payment.

Choose between the actual compatible proposals after separating the dealer’s price from the account expenses. An unanswered program condition remains unresolved, and a disclosed pricing method remains a method until it is applied to an order. Keep both the current product confirmation and the institution’s written fee terms so the benefit you count matches the account you will use.

How we checked this. Patriot’s IRA program page was rendered November 5, 2026, with company evidence also drawn from the October 24 snapshot. Eligibility requires confirmation. The financial examples are hypothetical and regulatory materials were reviewed November 5.

Frequently asked questions

Is Patriot's IRA program free for every account?

In October 2026 Patriot offered a program requiring a minimum account, but did not state the threshold. Ask for current eligibility, covered fees, duration and any exclusions in writing. A conditional program should not be treated as an unconditional offer.

Which company has a lower dealer spread?

Comparable current buy and sell prices require quotes for the same item. Request each company's written purchase quote and same-time repurchase offer for identical products and quantities. Check the expiration and any deductions before comparing the gap. A fee promotion does not establish which company has the smaller transaction gap.

Does Patriot offer a consultation with an owner?

In October 2026 Patriot offered direct work with an owner. Confirm the current process, who will handle your account afterward and which institution administers the IRA. Consultation format is a service preference, not proof of a lower price or a guaranteed outcome.

Does National Gold Group describe its markup?

Its October 2026 pricing explanation used a wholesale reference and disclosed markup. Ask for the actual reference, markup and complete amount for the products in your order. The method description does not establish the price of a specific transaction or its future resale value.