Why you might want a different dealer than
Lear
Lear gives you more to go on than most IRA dealers, and what it shows is the reason to keep looking. It was one of only three IRA-focused firms that showed a buyable per-coin price on November 6, 2026, when we found no per-product prices for 14 of the 20 we could read. That same survey put the one-unit price of a 1 oz American Gold Eagle at 4.1% to 12.8% over spot across 10 sellers, with a median of 5.7%, and the 12.8% at the top of the range was
Lear Capital's.
Its regulatory record is the second reason. On January 3, 2022,
Lear agreed to a consent order with the New York Attorney General that included a $6 million payment, resolving a lawsuit that alleged undisclosed commissions of up to 33 percent; the release does not state that
Lear admitted the allegations. Several state securities regulators then settled through
Lear's Chapter 11 plan, confirmed June 12, 2023, which provides $5.5 million for customers. Of the companies reviewed on this site,
Lear is the only one that was a party to an action in the set we reviewed.
Lear does publish useful account terms. Its IRA FAQ names
Equity Trust Company and
Delaware Depository and lists $315 for the first year and $235 for each subsequent year with electronic statements and non-segregated storage. Use those as the baseline every alternative has to beat. Read the full
Lear Capital review and
National Gold Group vs
Lear Capital.
Lear also sells metal for direct delivery outside an IRA. If you are leaving
Lear only for retirement purchases, decide whether that personal-purchase relationship should move too, and compare the same coin's price there before you do.
National Gold Group: a markup you can ask about line by line
National Gold Group is our featured first alternative, and Gold IRA Master gives it this placement to promote its services.
Lear's history centers on how commissions were disclosed;
National Gold Group's transparency page describes a wholesale reference plus a disclosed markup, a conditional lifetime storage fee waiver, a $0 charge for its own IRA setup service and a no-fee buyback. Its IRA information describes rollover or transfer funding and names depository examples.
It suits you if you want an assisted IRA purchase and want the markup on your exact order stated before you sign. It quotes by phone, so ask for the reference, markup and total in writing and test the storage offer's conditions against
Lear's published schedule. See the
National Gold Group review and the comparison with
Lear.
Kitco: a dealer that works with several custodians
Lear's described arrangement points you to one custodian and one depository.
Kitco's IRA information describes a dealer role with participating custodians, and it also offers allocated and segregated private storage outside an IRA.
Choose
Kitco if you want to pick the custodian yourself or keep part of your metal in a private account. It is less of a guided rollover service, so plan the transfer paperwork with the custodian directly. Read the
Kitco review.
Kitco also describes a separate pool account and publishes its process for selling bullion back. That gives you a written exit route to read before you buy, which is the question
Lear's regulatory history makes most pressing. A pool account is a different form of ownership from coins held in your name, so ask what you own, how it is recorded and how a sale is settled before treating it as a substitute for IRA metal.
Augusta Precious Metals: the same institutions, a different sales format
Augusta's gold IRA page named
Equity Trust Company as preferred custodian and
Delaware Depository for storage in October 2026, the same pair
Lear names. That makes the comparison unusually clean: the account and vault can match, so the difference sits in the metal quote and the sales process, which at
Augusta starts with an educational web conference.
Choose
Augusta if you like
Lear's institutions but want to learn the process before a product is proposed. Ask for both institutions' schedules and compare them with
Lear's published figures. See the
Augusta review and
National Gold Group vs
Augusta.
Advantage Gold: a second custodian option
Advantage Gold's FAQ named
STRATA Trust Company alongside
Equity Trust Company among recommended custodians in October 2026, and identified depository options. If
Equity Trust does not suit you, that is a named alternative rather than an open question.
It suits a saver who already holds an account with
STRATA or wants to compare two custodian schedules. Read the
Advantage Gold review and
National Gold Group vs
Advantage Gold.

Noble Gold Investments: published entry terms
Like
Lear,
Noble Gold puts figures on its site. Its gold IRA page, rendered in November 2026, showed a $20,000 IRA minimum and a $50 setup fee. That lets you set its entry terms beside
Lear's fee example before you make a call.
Choose
Noble if your purchase clears that minimum and you want to check published numbers against the contract. Ask for its metal quote too, since a fee schedule says nothing about the premium. See the
Noble Gold review and
National Gold Group vs
Noble Gold.
Birch Gold Group: platinum and palladium with named custodians
Birch's IRA page covers gold, silver, platinum and palladium, and its FAQ names custodians and describes a buyback. It suits a saver who wants a wider metal mix and named institutions to research.
Its FAQ minimum is historical, so ask for the current figure. Read the
Birch Gold Group review and
National Gold Group vs
Birch.
Moving metal you already hold with
Lear Capital
Switching dealers does not have to mean selling. If you already own metal in an IRA arranged through
Lear Capital, the metal sits with a custodian and a depository, not with the dealer. You can ask the custodian whether the holdings can move in kind to a new account, or whether you can simply place future purchases through a different dealer while the existing metal stays where it is. Each route has its own charges, so ask the current custodian for its transfer and closing fees before you commit.
If you sell instead, ask {c} for a written bid on each item and compare it with a same-time bid from the new dealer. A sale inside the IRA is not a distribution, but taking the money or the metal out of the account can be. The IRS rollover guidance separates direct rollovers, trustee-to-trustee transfers and payments made to you; a trustee transfer keeps the money out of your hands. Ask both custodians to handle it directly, and consult a tax adviser if the route is unclear.
Because
Lear's described arrangement uses
Equity Trust Company and
Delaware Depository, an alternative that uses the same pair, such as
Augusta, may let you keep the account and vault and change only the dealer for new purchases. Confirm that with
Equity Trust before assuming it.
Test any alternative against
Lear's own numbers
Each alternative answers a different objection. Start with the one that matches yours:
- You want the markup on your exact order stated before you sign:
National Gold Group. - You want to pick your own custodian or keep a private account:
Kitco. - You want
Lear's custodian and vault with a different sales process:
Augusta Precious Metals. - You want a second named custodian option:
Advantage Gold. - You want published entry figures to check:
Noble Gold Investments. - You want platinum or palladium alongside gold:
Birch Gold Group.
Whichever you choose, the decision still rests on the written quote, the custodian and depository schedules and a same-time buyback bid for the exact product.
Lear's published coin prices and fee example give you a ready benchmark. Ask the alternative for the same coin and quantity, a same-time buyback bid and its custodian and depository schedules, then compare:
- The fee calculator adds the account, storage and transaction charges from each written schedule over the years you expect to hold.
- The spread checker shows the gap between a purchase quote and a same-time buyback bid for the same item.
- The annual fee comparison lines up recurring custodian and storage charges side by side.
Ask every dealer for its cancellation terms in writing.
Lear agreed to a 24-hour cancellation period for certain transactions in New York; other buyers should not assume the same right applies to them.
A lower premium on one coin does not settle the choice on its own. Weigh it against the custodian's recurring charges, the storage type you want and the bid you would receive if you sold the same coin back the same day.
Frequently asked questions
Was
Lear Capital sued?
Yes. On January 3, 2022,
Lear agreed to a consent order with the New York Attorney General that included a $6 million payment, resolving a lawsuit alleging undisclosed commissions of up to 33 percent. The release does not state that
Lear admitted the allegations. Several states settled through its Chapter 11 plan, confirmed June 12, 2023.
What does a
Lear Capital IRA cost each year?
Lear's IRA FAQ listed $315 for the first year and $235 for each subsequent year with electronic statements and non-segregated storage. Other choices can cost more, and the metal premium is separate. Confirm the current custodian schedule.
Which
Lear alternative lets me choose a different custodian?
Kitco describes working with participating custodians, and
Advantage Gold named
STRATA Trust Company and
Equity Trust Company among recommended custodians in October 2026. Confirm which accept your account today.
Are
Lear's coin prices high?
In our November 6, 2026 survey, the 1 oz American Gold Eagle ran from 4.1% to 12.8% over spot across 10 sellers, and
Lear's listing was the 12.8% top of that range. Prices move daily, so get same-time quotes on the same coin.
